PDA

View Full Version : day time running lights


E46coupe
04-06-2005, 04:54 PM
does anyone know who can remove my day time running lights?

mmpower
04-06-2005, 05:14 PM
does anyone know who can remove my day time running lights?

The dealer would have to disable the option for you but they won't b/c DRL are mandatory!

I tried to get mine disabled but, no way!!!

WASABI
04-07-2005, 03:11 PM
Although a US spec highbeam relay does the job (e36 mind you), I just took the fuse out for the highbeams, rarely ever use them anyway, plus HIDs light up the road better.

E46coupe
04-07-2005, 04:09 PM
i wish it was a fuse. I just unpluged both connectors but now have a warning..

mmpower
04-07-2005, 08:29 PM
i wish it was a fuse. I just unpluged both connectors but now have a warning..

Yea I tried that too!!!! *thmbsdwn*

EricE330ci
04-13-2005, 09:26 AM
Yes it can only be done by somebody who has the BMW Modec computer that can change options. It's a must if you have halos.

aziz
04-13-2005, 03:08 PM
i am coming up with a simple solution....will post pics soon.

E46coupe
04-13-2005, 04:21 PM
pls let me know if there is anyone that can do this. I will pay them. I want to have my highbeams and hate the warning indication...Eric let me know if your able to arange something...

thanks.
Hey when is the next meet....

mmpower
04-26-2005, 11:55 PM
i am coming up with a simple solution....will post pics soon.

did you figure it out yet???

E46coupe
04-27-2005, 06:08 PM
ya I am still waiting....to

03 Dinan 3
05-23-2005, 04:48 PM
lets not let this die now! I only want them on when I use them to flash someone :moon:

mmpower
06-03-2005, 04:42 PM
Has anyone been able to figure out a way on how to disable the DRLs w/o the on-board computer error on the cluster and going to the dealership in the U.S.?

jason77
06-13-2005, 07:57 PM
It's a must if you have halos.

Why is it a must have if you have halos?

bm_style_71
06-14-2005, 04:32 AM
i took my bulbs out plain and simple lol yes the warning light is different at first but now im used to it ... like 100% doesnt bug me might at first but u get used to it like eveything else found it the most convenient and easiest way :D

mmpower
06-14-2005, 02:14 PM
i took my bulbs out plain and simple lol yes the warning light is different at first but now im used to it ... like 100% doesnt bug me might at first but u get used to it like eveything else found it the most convenient and easiest way :D

I tried doing the samething. I ran into issues with my fogs when I did this. My fogs would flicker on/off when I unplugged the highbeams so, I re-connected them. I wouldn't recommend this if you have HIDs in your fogs.

JazzM
06-14-2005, 03:26 PM
You need a GT1 diagnostic unit (dealer). Call Mike from munich motors (416 665 1605). Tell him that Tom with the Z3 sent you. I'm sure he'll do it for you at no charge if you do an oil change with him or something... don't quote me on that though :) He's got a GT1 unit and can reprogram it for you.

T.

mmpower
06-15-2005, 05:28 PM
I called Mike today. I'm going to see him tomorrow for this matter. Hopefully this can be done on my 01' 330ci.

mmpower
06-16-2005, 04:06 PM
I called Mike today. I'm going to see him tomorrow for this matter. Hopefully this can be done on my 01' 330ci.

Unfortunately, he was not able to do my car for some reason. Mike's a good guy and he tried everyother possible way to manipulate the computer. He said he was able to do this before to other models but, for some reason not mine.

I would suggest to call and check with him first before making a visit to him. Provide him with your details of your car; year & model.

Overall, good guy and it was worth a shot before I booked an appointment with a BMW dealership in the USA when I go visit some relatives.

E46coupe
06-16-2005, 04:16 PM
maybe it will work on my 2000..whats his #?

mmpower
06-16-2005, 04:36 PM
maybe it will work on my 2000..whats his #?

Check the post by JazzM!

Goodluck and let us know!

E46coupe
06-16-2005, 04:42 PM
thanks

Anixter
06-16-2005, 07:23 PM
Just pull them out and paint them black or something and putt them back in........LOL

kerisabe
06-19-2005, 02:07 PM
Unfortunately, he was not able to do my car for some reason. Mike's a good guy and he tried everyother possible way to manipulate the computer. He said he was able to do this before to other models but, for some reason not mine.

I would suggest to call and check with him first before making a visit to him. Provide him with your details of your car; year & model.

Overall, good guy and it was worth a shot before I booked an appointment with a BMW dealership in the USA when I go visit some relatives.

You might have to change your LCM (Light Control Module) which is your headlamp switch. Cause this only can be done to 2002 and up models. But after u've changed to the newer LCM, u'll be fine. Good luck *th-up*

mmpower
06-19-2005, 02:18 PM
You might have to change your LCM (Light Control Module) which is your headlamp switch. Cause this only can be done to 2002 and up models. But after u've changed to the newer LCM, u'll be fine. Good luck *th-up*

Mike was saying something like that. Does anyone know how much the LCM cost?

kerisabe
06-20-2005, 12:17 AM
Mike was saying something like that. Does anyone know how much the LCM cost?

The LCM cost around us200 if u get it from a US based dealership. Plus shipping, tax etc.