PDA

View Full Version : what needs to be done when selling a car?

King Luis
03-30-2005, 07:08 PM
so i'm selling my old car.
what do i need to do when i sell it to the person?
thanks.

Jari
03-30-2005, 09:14 PM
If you're selling it AS IS, all you need to do is pick up a UVIP (used vehicle information package) from a ministry licensing office. When the deal is made, fill out the information on the uvip, sign it, then fill out the "seller" details on the vehicle portion of your ownership.

If you're selling it certified, and e-tested, you obviously need those 2 documents as well.

ps. if you sell as is, its sometimes wise to have the buyer sign a document stating he's buying the vehicle as is, with no warranty.

King Luis
03-30-2005, 09:32 PM
thanks btw.....how much is the UVIP???
i'm selling as is.

T.Dot_E30
03-30-2005, 10:06 PM
I always thought it was the buyers responsibility to get that package, I remember I did when we bought my car, but im no pro on buying and selling cars. I believe it was $25, but that was a few years ago, so prices may have gone up, like everything the government offers these days

BigD
03-30-2005, 10:22 PM
I always thought it was the buyers responsibility to get that package, I remember I did when we bought my car, but im no pro on buying and selling cars. I believe it was $25, but that was a few years ago, so prices may have gone up, like everything the government offers these days

Yup. The UVIP is like a Carfax, buyer beware type of thing. If the buyer trusts you you can just take his money, fill out the green slip and sign it. He can do the rest (has to go to the licensing orifice).

thinair
03-30-2005, 11:47 PM
First and fore most, drive the hell out of the car. Make sure the e-brake works while cornering, that 1st gear can be engaged at 70km/h, that the car can drive down a flight of stairs. You have to make sure it's safe before selling it right. :P

Jari
03-31-2005, 07:13 AM
It's the sellers responsibility. It costs around $20-30.