PDA

View Full Version : TRYING TO GET a RECALL ON 2000 e46

trypnotic
03-15-2005, 12:29 PM
My 2000 323Ci E46 has developed a squeak whenever i pull away or change
gear. I finally decided to get underneath to see if I could locate the
problem. I located the squeak to what I think is the near side mounting for
the rear anti roll bar (i'm no mechanic so i could be wrong about this). The
mounting looks like it has torn itself from the body.
I'm sure i've read somewhere that this is a common fault on the E46. If so
is there a recall or a standard way of fixing this? I'm sure it will need
welding.

I will post the following INFO in hopes that other BMW e46 owners have had the same problem.

I have spoken to BMW and they said if I can get more owners with same problem to come fourth that they will pay for the repair or do a recall.

Please e-mail me and or BMW and let them know.

THANKS DEE

*uzi*

Bliss
03-15-2005, 12:32 PM
Never had the problem, but sounds more like a bushing than anything else. I don't think "welding" would be necessary. Just get it properly inspected by a mechanic. Thats how you'll know for sure.

trypnotic
03-15-2005, 12:51 PM
Hi Bliss my car is at budds collision being repaired they told me that this is the third 2000 e46 they have fixed with the same problem. The sheet metal
gives out and causes the subframe to rip away from the car on the left side.

and it comes with a $4500.00 price tag to fix

Parts 778.00

labour 3722.00

and the thing is that i dont drive the car crazy at all.

Cheers

Bliss
03-15-2005, 04:14 PM
Hi Bliss my car is at budds collision being repaired they told me that this is the third 2000 e46 they have fixed with the same problem. The sheet metal
gives out and causes the subframe to rip away from the car on the left side.

and it comes with a $4500.00 price tag to fix

Parts 778.00

labour 3722.00

and the thing is that i dont drive the car crazy at all.

Cheers