PDA

View Full Version : IPOD or other mp3 players in an e30??


mikee30
06-04-2004, 04:11 AM
Is it possible to wire in a mp3 player into the e30 factory sound system such that it can be played without using the ugly cassette adapters? Has anyone ever seen this done, or know any websites explaining how? I was thinking maybe installing a switch to toggle between thefactory radio and the mp3 player...such as an ipod?

Oh yeah...has anyone ever hooked up a cd changer on the stock radio? is this doable as well?

Thanks again

T.Dot_E30
06-04-2004, 04:18 AM
if ur talkin about those small handhell mp3 players....nope its not possible unless u get deck with an aux input.

If ur talking about an mp3 cd deck, ya its possible why wouldn't it, they are made for cars.

U can't hook an ipod up unless u find a deck with an aux input or u use that cassette adapter shit.


The cd changers that allow u too hook dem upto a factory deck, use an AM signal to transmit which u would put the deck at a certain channel, and it would pick up the cd changer......which isn't really good sound quality and really shit if u want a system in ur car.

SourSamo
06-04-2004, 05:59 AM
I used a Jvc mp3 deck with aux in wired to my ipod dock. Then hooked the dock up to the cigarette lighter and mounted it where the ash tray used to be.

I've never even played a cd in my car, cause the 20 gigs of music at my fingertips was easily worth the money. I can't recommend it enough.

If I get this new E30 I'm looking at, I'll take some pics of the install.

Kid
06-04-2004, 12:32 PM
Wasn't there a factory cd changer option for the E30? But I think it was the later models:confused:

Mystikal
06-04-2004, 02:36 PM
All of the cars with the premium system can have the CD changer. But why...

Get a new deck if for anything the better sound quality, then install the auxilary source.

mikee30
06-04-2004, 02:41 PM
I am going to sound dumb now...but what is the auxillary source look like? RCA plug, 3/8's..etc?
My CD player has an AUX button on the remote, but nothing in the back looks AUX related.

Mystikal
06-04-2004, 02:56 PM
You need to purchase a seperate adaptor, which allows the use of 2 RCA's. Call a store that deals your brand and see if they can order one in for you. Hopefully it's not NLA.

I thought you had a factory deck...?

mikee30
06-04-2004, 04:18 PM
Right now all I have is a hole with wires coming out....I had the factory deck and am now putting in a cd deck...but when I did put the cd deck...the problem mentioned in my other post started.

SourSamo
06-04-2004, 05:19 PM
If your deck doesn't have aux in, which most don't there are a few options.

Wire up an FM transmitters. Its easy to do but alot of people don't like the quality. Or there are some companies that will turn the cd changer port on the deck into an aux in.