PDA

View Full Version : Conforti CAI installed!


simsimah!
06-02-2004, 03:41 AM
While I'm still waiting for my cluster to come in, the mods continue. I just finished installing my Jim Conforti CAI.. What a bitch it was to install! I had to lower the hood a bit because the heat shield is a little too high.. but overall i'm very happy.. thanks to Alex@teutonic.ca for the hookup and a great price!

///MsAniTy
06-02-2004, 03:42 AM
how much did it run you?

simsimah!
06-02-2004, 03:44 AM
pic2

simsimah!
06-02-2004, 03:54 AM
$490

328is_Perf
06-03-2004, 06:25 AM
hp results?

Frank de Jonge
06-03-2004, 02:37 PM
You can also make on by youself :)

Thats what I did and now the car revs much easier and faster.

simsimah!
06-03-2004, 11:25 PM
I havent dynoed my car.. still got a bunch of mods i'm working on before I get a chance :)

Daydream///M3
06-04-2004, 06:31 AM
chances are with an intake on your 325, you will make like 3-4 bhp at most.

I have the conforti intake on my E36 M3 and that engine is more tunable than yours and it still does not feel like it added that much power.... software probably does the most.

simsimah!
06-04-2004, 02:34 PM
you're right.. it wont add much bhp, but it sure does sound nice :)

I haven't noticed the commonly heard CAI whistling noises though.. :confused:

MarkD
06-05-2004, 08:47 AM
Originally posted by Daydream///M3
chances are with an intake on your 325, you will make like 3-4 bhp at most.

I have the conforti intake on my E36 M3 and that engine is more tunable than yours and it still does not feel like it added that much power.... software probably does the most.


I just came back from Germany yesterday and in about 10 days I should have equipment to flash OBD-II cars. The tuning will be for 94 octane so you will be able get more power than with the software currently available in Canada and the USA.
I'll be able to program any German car: BMW, M-B, Porsche, Audi, VW... (and yes even MINI )

MarkD

Manimillion
06-06-2004, 03:25 AM
I would say change the filter on it... Put a K&N filter or something... But watch out when you clean it (when the time comes) for it not to have too much filter oil on it...

burnhard88
06-06-2004, 03:41 AM
yea... k&n looks so much better...

*uzi*

WhadUpp
06-06-2004, 03:51 AM
Originally posted by DevilOnWheelz
I would say change the filter on it... Put a K&N filter or something... But watch out when you clean it (when the time comes) for it not to have too much filter oil on it...

Just cleaned my K&N and I can attest it's too easy to put too much oil on the pleats so good advice. K&N type filter should be better than the foam types.

Looks good with that CAI underneath there*th-up*

simsimah!
06-06-2004, 04:38 AM
I read that the foam filters performed the same as paper filters.. :confused:

the instructions said to put a "medium" amount on it so i put what I thought was that amount.. the car seems to be running pretty well :)

How long do filters last anyways?

WhadUpp
06-06-2004, 05:01 AM
Supposedly these filters should last you at least the lifetime of your car but you should be cleaning and re-oiling every year or so.

lordzeke
06-06-2004, 09:20 AM
yeah simsimah! you could've made your own, my cost me $90
http://www.dtmpower.net/ppost2/data/500/2563cold_intake11-med.jpg