PDA

View Full Version : turbo questions


objec
05-11-2004, 01:06 AM
i am turning my 87 325e into a turbo car and have a few questions.

whats is a good psi to run an 87 325e with a t4/t3 turbo

and where exactly do i get the oil for the inlet, i want to run a "t" fitting off the oil press switch thing, but i have no idea where it is.


and to the other turbo e30 owners, what was your hp increase, and how does your engine respond to the turbo

davide30
05-11-2004, 02:09 AM
me im running 325 e turbo about 3 week ago and its was very cool my setup is perfect. so the turbo t3/t4 i think they do the job perfectly because the exhaust side is short and the compressor side is big me im running t4 .64 and he run fine. for the oil pressur switch he is under the oil filter in the cylinder block. the performance i have about 190 horse and about the same or more for the torque. for the fuel managment im running fmu 12:1 and an other adjutable for the idle because i change my injector for 19 lbs and at idle the car run to rich .but i plan to run next summer a stand alone fuel management and forged low compression piston to run the necessary to do 300 horses. if you have other question tell and i will answer you . scuse me for the bad qualities of anglish but i try the best i do.

Jordan
05-11-2004, 02:11 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that if you have to ask such questions, chances are you shouldn't be trying to turbo your car. Doesn't sound like you have the slightest clue what you are doing.

But to try and answer those questions...

A 325e wont like alot of boost, and there is no point doing just a little boost.

Tap the oil pan for oil inlet.

Oil pressure switch is located under the drivers side motor mount.

I know of 325i's (m20b25) producing 250-300hp. I know of m20b28 strokers makeing 300-450.

No one turbo's an eta, if for no other reason then its revlimiter. If your turbo starts to spool at 3,000RPM you hit the revlimiter 1500RPM's later. Pointless.

It would be best to build a proper engine to accept lots of boost, then halfass boost an eta.

chromius
05-11-2004, 06:33 PM
^^^ I second that, ..it would take too long to spool....and besides arn't you the guy that has a twin turbo M3?:confused: you should know how to do all this! :D

objec
05-12-2004, 02:39 AM
haha,

anyways, i run a "t" nut off the oil pressure switch an that will supply the oil for the inlit