PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to Lower my E30?

camc3
03-18-2004, 01:47 AM
I have been debating on lowering my E30 (1986) now for a few months. But FINALLY, I have decided to go through with it. I have heard many different ways on on what I SHOULD buy but I am still not sure what shoudl be bought. I am looking to lower the front 2'' and the Rear 3''. After some precise tape measure work :D I found that the rear was 1'' higher. I figured 3 in the back and 2 in the front would be a nice balance and make the car look even. SO my question would be, What can I buy that will lower my car as stated above at the bare minium cost? I'm not looking to do track runs or anything. Just normal driving and mabey a few drags *angel* If anyone can help me I would give many thanks. *wave*

PS: I have a set of 17'' wheels shipping to my door. I havent bought the tires yet, so I figure I should be able to fit them under the car with some low pro tires *th-up* Many Thanks!

camc3

BimmerKris
03-18-2004, 03:49 AM
Cut off 2 coils on the springs. will give you about 2.5 drop. if you go any lower you detsroy the oil pan. It is only cast aluminum, that doesn't dent or bend, it breaks. I have a hard enough time becuase the flow master bottoms out all the time.

Or you could get the H&R's, they'll give you about 1.75 at the most

felixthecat
03-18-2004, 04:03 AM
dont cut them.......heat up the coils with a torch..they'll sag.....pour water on them when you get to the height you want them..

e30cabrio
03-18-2004, 04:41 AM
Or..you guys could get a real suspension........modifying any springs in anyway at home is no good!

I'm getting H&R Cup Kit suspension, it is supposed to lower my car 2" in the front and 1.7" in the rear. Only $600 for this one!

You can get Ground Control Coilovers, I'm not sure on the drop on those, but I know it'll drop UP TO 2.3" in the front. Look to spend $1300 on a complete suspension for this one.