PDA

View Full Version : 328is M Package Question ?

jdmls
03-13-2004, 04:23 PM
Im still pretty new at this guys so i was hoping u could help me out. What are the uprgraded features that come in the M Package offered on an 1997 328is from the factory ?, and does this car come with a locking differential ? Any information would be greatly appreciated .

Thanks

uk325sport
03-13-2004, 06:54 PM
from what i know there might be quiet a few might be better to go and find the full spec sheet of it

thinair
03-13-2004, 11:42 PM
There was no limited slip differentials on the 97+ 328's, only ASC that sorta tries to act like an LSD.

Jon@Bimmersport
03-14-2004, 12:20 AM
Originally posted by thinair
There was no limited slip differentials on the 97+ 328's, only ASC that sorta tries to act like an LSD.

i learned that what mercedes ESP does..i asked ALL the techs if AMG cars have LSD..they said no it doesnt need it because of ESP...thats so gay

thinair
03-14-2004, 12:54 AM
When ASC is on, if it senses rear wheel spinning a lot more then the other, it applies the brake to the spinning wheel.

beamerboycsl
03-15-2004, 03:08 AM
it also and primarily reduces the engine power and torque.

thinair
03-15-2004, 03:42 AM
Originally posted by beamerboycsl
it also and primarily reduces the engine power and torque.

Only when it sense wheelspin.....

Desisuperman
03-16-2004, 11:49 PM
do u guys race with ASC on/off ?

thinair
03-17-2004, 12:19 AM
Originally posted by Desisuperman
do u guys race with ASC on/off ?

Off!!! I actually removed mine altogether. I never used it, now I don't have to hit that pesky ASC button everytime I turn on my car.

ASC will cut power to the engine if it senses wheelspin right, and it usually overexaggerates the power loss so you end up going a lot slower.

Desisuperman
03-17-2004, 02:42 AM
yeah, i'm still experimenting with my car since only got it a few months ago. trying to perfect my start with least amount of wheelspin

bentlink
03-20-2004, 07:03 PM