PDA

View Full Version : Stereo Guys! I need help with some wiring for connecting my amp to the stock headunit


djcontra
05-16-2002, 11:44 AM
I want to hookup my poweramp to my stock headunit for now, until i can afford a better one, but i need some assistance. Right now i have it hooked up, but it's not hooked up properly.

I need to know where is the following:

-The trigger/remote wire so my poweramp doesn't stay on when my car is turned off (right now i have an on/off switch i put on until i can find that wire)

-The lineout wires from the headunit, or even better, from the bmw amp in the back trunk of the car. Right now i have the rear speaker wires spliced into a crossover then into my poweramp, and out to the subs. I know this is wrong, and i want to connect it to lineout wires.

thanks

mogie
05-20-2002, 07:54 AM
Unless you have a aftermarket headunit - that would be the only way for now, if you try to connect with the amp out you can cause you some grief but here is a few links you ca use. I gather your amp now has a line level in?? So this will work- follow this description on the install path http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Boulevard/3287/car_audio/stereo_upgrade.html

Then use this link for the wire harness and amp install.
http://home.att.net/~ebaines/e36_leads.htm

Good luck - I know it took along time to tweak my system *th-up*

djcontra
05-20-2002, 09:20 AM
awsome thanks!
i'll eventually get a new headunit, but i want to go demo some to decide what i want. I'm going to wait until it's warmer out to work on the car again, i hate working when it's cold out heh

BMW_M52_M20
05-22-2002, 09:31 PM
It is going to be difficult to do anything with the stock head unit. Unfortunatley, that alpine head unit is crap and you definetly need to get a new head unit if you are adding an amp for the subs. Also man, amplify the speakers when you get the money too!!!!! Makes and unbelieveable difference and cuts the cost of buying new speakers. Just buy a 4 channel amplifer and you will be amazed.
Ciao
Jay