PDA

View Full Version : Painting E30

BMWE30
02-14-2004, 04:11 PM
Hey guys...
When I bought my car it needed passenger side body work. Pullable dents mostly. On closer visual inspection when I got home, I noticed the clear coat is very faded in spots and in many spots is chipping off. Pinstriping is a mess, and the BMW should not look so disgusting. I want to paint the car when it gets warmer out...I have some painting experience and can do a good job, but I want to compeltely change the color from Brongzit-Beige to another color such as black or blue metallic. I know masking well and the engine and trunk compartment coating makes it alot easier to paint without worrying about the bays. Anyway...what do I do for the door sills? I dont want to paint over the vehicle info stickers or anything....and I need some feedback on the whole painting idea. Thanks in advance.:confused:

Slowered318
02-14-2004, 05:01 PM
you can mask off thoes stickers.. that what I did..

If your doing it yourself it's still going to be easyer to take off the doors, hood, trunk lid, gas door, trim, side windows and paint them seperatly.. cause if you doing a color change you don't want show it too badly.

Pull the bumpers off and everything you can.. then you'll also be able to fix any rust you find and not have it bleed through the new paint.

BladeRunner
02-14-2004, 06:07 PM
be sure to get the rear tailights, emblems, bumpers, and what ever else rust will get by. I learned this when I got my car repainted a while back. payed 600 for a 300-400 job. they sand blasted my car and didn't paint some spots the spots they did paint they placed tape on and pull the paint off. pictures could explain better. in short if get car repainted don't go to a general public shop like macco or peachauto unless you know they'll do a good job. i want my paint to be done professionaly but my parents said no, look what going cheap gets you...

SebSter
02-16-2004, 02:08 AM