PDA

View Full Version : speedometer


christian
02-02-2004, 08:33 PM
the other day my speedometer stopped working completely. every once in a while it will bounce a little but it wont read i checked the sensor on the differential and there is no power getting to it i dont know what is wrong any suggestions ? p.s. the car is an 84' 318i thanx in avanced

Jase
02-02-2004, 09:15 PM
When my gauges stopped working it was the batteries in the cluster itself. they usually die after 10-15 years

BladeRunner
02-02-2004, 10:28 PM
aahhhhhhh good old '84 318 up to their old tricks again...

snd84318i
02-03-2004, 02:46 AM
so if change the batteries it should start working ? everything else works just not the speedo?

niko_gt
02-03-2004, 03:29 AM
if the odometer isnt adding up, dont worry bout it ;)
just estimate your speed

christian
02-03-2004, 04:23 AM
yeah its just the speedo everything else works, i think its effecting the mpg gauge and the odometer because the mpg gauge moves around all the time for no reason and the odometer hasn't changed milage thanx for the feedback.*th-up*

christian
02-03-2004, 04:29 AM
hey i have another question, iv read my manual but it dosn't tell were the batteries are located or what type they are wondering if any one can help me thanx

///m powered
02-03-2004, 05:54 AM
how about this one.........

my speedo works always,
my gas gauge only has the light come on when its empty
my temp works once it gets to midway point
and my tach works when it feels like it

good old 84 318i! :P

edit: my odometer stopped about 5 years ago too ;)

Lil'Smoothie
02-03-2004, 03:14 PM
if it was just a blown fuse than you would most likely have more than one thing out rite now, ont just the speedo/odometer

It may just be a bad connection if it is only your speedo that is out
pop the cluster out and check for a loose connection

christian
02-03-2004, 03:53 PM
i looked at all the connections and didnt find anything loose so i thought maybe the wire was cut i was just going to run a new wire but there are two wires of the sensor and only one on the speedo.:confused:

BladeRunner
02-04-2004, 01:00 AM
christian while your back there you might want change out your bulbs for new ones, save you time later.

what kind of battery is this? can i get it from BMW dealers? bulbs too? some of you might his of the dealer question as stupid but dealers don't keep up with the old stuff after a while.

oh yeah my odometer is dead too; is this fixable?

BladeRunner
02-04-2004, 05:25 PM
went to a BMW dealer near me hopping to get a batteries for my cluster. Told me batteries and board come together not seperate. Price $200.60? This board better be new or very important for $200, since I must pay out of my pocket....

BladeRunner
02-06-2004, 02:42 AM
oh yeah forgot to add the board may not be nessary if the rest of your gauges work, there is a follow through method to fix this problem...

///Mr.T
02-06-2004, 10:41 PM
Dont buy a new board, and you dont need new batteries either.

Check out this article (http://www.unofficialbmw.com/speedo/speedo.htm) I had the exact same problem, and tried re-soldering the speedo. It wasnt hard to do at all, and has worked fine for 3 years!

Albertae30
02-08-2004, 06:46 AM
just had this prob last month everything in my car worked fine then my speedo started going crazy turns out my alternator was fried got a new one and walla