PDA

View Full Version : amp wiring


steelraven
10-28-2003, 02:26 AM
Need help! Possibly a stupid question...

I want to hook up my sub and amp but I don't have the guts to rip apart my dash to hook up the amp's remote wire. So my questions are:

1) Can I hook up this wire somewhere else?

2) If I do have to wire it to the deck how do I get in there and where should I make the connection?

P.S. I don't have the HK upgrade (no factory amp).

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

BMW BMXer
10-28-2003, 04:18 AM
How are you going to attatch your RCA's without taking the deck out?

Mystikal
10-28-2003, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by BMW BMXer
How are you going to attatch your RCA's without taking the deck out?

Sounds like he's using the factory head, therefore tapping the signal from the rear speakers.

BMW BMXer
10-28-2003, 05:49 PM
Well in that case just find a power source that turns on when the cars on using an test light,

Albertae30
10-29-2003, 08:14 PM
ok look here is soem advise if your going to do something do it right or not at all i just installed my subs and amp it was easy as hell. do you have an after market amp? if you do just pull the deck out from the front and then hook up your rca cables. then run them under the center consol and to the back same witht the remote wire. then do your ground from your amp make sure this wire is not more then 6 inchs in length or it will make your amp blow up. its really simple dude don't do a half ass job it will look like shit and won't be the real thing.

Mystikal
10-29-2003, 08:29 PM
You seemed to have missed the issue. It is likely a factory headunit, with no RCA jacks. He is just getting the signal from the rear speaker connections. Therefore, he has no need to take the dash apart at all, he just needs a switched power source.

Albertae30
10-29-2003, 09:17 PM
you can buy rca wireing kits for stock head units as well i don't think its a good idea my self just my 2 cents

steelraven
10-30-2003, 03:01 AM
You're right. My plan is to steal the signal from the rear speakers and connect them directly to the speaker level inputs on my amp.

$#!t I made an error!
I meant the signal ground wire (not the remote wire). Can I ground this anywhere or only to the deck?
I'm retarded...

Mystikal
10-30-2003, 03:04 AM
Sure, any ground will do just fine, basically any bare metal surface. If you really wanna be sure it's good, run it straight to the negative battery terminal since it's right there in the trunk. *th-up*

Albertae30
10-30-2003, 04:54 AM
the battery is inthe trunk?? that is something i did not know but dude make sure when installing the amp the ground wire from the amp to a ground cannot be more then 6-8 inchs or the amp will not be able to ground properly and heat up. also for your power and ground make sure you use some fat wire at least 8 guage.this depends on how much power you are using if its more then 300 watts you want at least 12 gauge wire anything less will be a fire hazard.

Mystikal
10-30-2003, 02:05 PM
I think you have your concept of wire gauge backwards. A lower numerical figure represents a thicker wire.

For what it's worth, the distance between my amp and the negative battery terminal is about 18-20", and I have had no problems whatsoever. It was a very experienced shop that did it, too.

koncise
10-30-2003, 04:56 PM
Originally posted by Mystikal
I think you have your concept of wire gauge backwards. A lower numerical figure represents a thicker wire.

For what it's worth, the distance between my amp and the negative battery terminal is about 18-20", and I have had no problems whatsoever. It was a very experienced shop that did it, too.

What shop do you go to?

Albertae30
10-30-2003, 06:44 PM
that i do sorry bout that i am just going on what my good friend has told me due to he has his own stereo shop. also if you look on crutfield.com they will tell you the same thing so meh its up to opinion i guess

Mystikal
11-02-2003, 03:59 PM
Originally posted by koncise
What shop do you go to?

It's this little shop in "downtown" (lmao) Whitby. I like going there because they never rush anything, and it's just the 2 guys who own the shop that do all the work, not some random hired help.