PDA

View Full Version : How much is O2 sensor, plus how do I install?


Autotechnica
07-25-2003, 05:50 PM
I've determined my rough idle and loss of power is due to a faulty O2 sensor. I'll have to go to the dealer to pick one up. Anyone have any idea how much it costs? I assume it's the same for all E36's. This is the one near the exhaust, not the intake.

Has anyone every installed their own O2 sensor? It sounds relatively easy as I recall it only requires you to snip a few wires. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Bryan

Furious
07-25-2003, 05:58 PM
not all O2 sensors are the same, and the prices fluxuate as well, i think my O2 cost around $136 and i know some E30's cost around $230 yours is around $116
changing them isnt too hard granted if you have the right tools. you basically need to dissconnect and get the plug out (which sometimes can be a real real pain in the ass) then reverse the process (remember to NOT strip or crossthread the O2 or it may never come out again) , also try and use some sort of lubricant to help make it easier to get out the next time.

Bryan if your finding the prices at the dealership to high, than i know that i can get you your O2 for the price i gave you above.

Autotechnica
07-25-2003, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by Furious325is
not all O2 sensors are the same, and the prices fluxuate as well, i think my O2 cost around $136 and i know some E30's cost around $230 yours is around $116
changing them isnt too hard granted if you have the right tools. you basically need to dissconnect and get the plug out (which sometimes can be a real real pain in the ass) then reverse the process (remember to NOT strip or crossthread the O2 or it may never come out again) , also try and use some sort of lubricant to help make it easier to get out the next time.

Bryan if your finding the prices at the dealership to high, than i know that i can get you your O2 for the price i gave you above.

Yikes! I thought it would be under $100. Thanks for the offer, but I'll see how much it is at the dealer first with my BMWCC member discount. I've seen aftermarket O2 sensors as well. Any ideas if these work any better or last any longer?

Thanks,

Bry

Furious
07-25-2003, 09:46 PM
O2 sensors are hard to gauge in regards to longevity, i think if you go to a specific brand go to Bosch (i think maybe the dealer uses them) if you can get a cheaper O2 then go for it.

Soldo
07-25-2003, 10:29 PM
hehehehe, BRYAN have you been reading last months EUROPEAN CAR mag???
hehehehehe, i have and i read all the things i need to check on my car before i go racing again, like the O2 sensor, brake fluid, etc. but then i realized how much its gonna cost me!!!!
YIKES!!
but we shall see!

djcontra
07-29-2003, 10:36 AM
$250 installed for OEM is what I paid to have mine replaced.
My mechanic advised against aftermarket for O2 sensors saying that some E36's dont react well to them. The aftermarket sensors were only about $40 less anyway.

Furious
07-29-2003, 11:09 AM
ya its about roughly 250ish iinstalled if you can do it yourself your saving good money

HooliGaN*
07-29-2003, 01:20 PM
Well ill keep all this info in mind cause my 02 sensor maybe gone also.

Julian

Autotechnica
07-29-2003, 01:23 PM
$250 sounds a little steep. I'm going to see if I can do it myself. I just installed the fuel filter myself on the weekend, it was really messy and the space was tight, but I still managed to do it and save myself some money.

Now I know it's the O2 sensor for sure. My car feels like the fuel mixture is wrong. The car backfires a lot and sometimes when I rev it even misfires. I've checked all ignition, spark plugs, etc.

Bry

KennyTheGreat
07-29-2003, 01:25 PM
Originally posted by Autotechnica
$250 sounds a little steep. I'm going to see if I can do it myself. I just installed the fuel filter myself on the weekend, it was really messy and the space was tight, but I still managed to do it and save myself some money.

Now I know it's the O2 sensor for sure. My car feels like the fuel mixture is wrong. The car backfires a lot and sometimes when I rev it even misfires. I've checked all ignition, spark plugs, etc.

Bry

I told ya it was the O2 sensor :moon:

blah, backfire? does it make a firecracker sound? :D

we need
|
|
|
V

djcontra
07-29-2003, 02:25 PM
Autotechnica: I just checked with my mechanic, and it's still $200 for an o2 sensor for your car as well.
Bimmerparts.com is selling them for $99 USD + Shipping/taxes/duties which is a bit of a savings.

Autotechnica
07-29-2003, 08:01 PM
Originally posted by djcontra
Autotechnica: I just checked with my mechanic, and it's still $200 for an o2 sensor for your car as well.
Bimmerparts.com is selling them for $99 USD + Shipping/taxes/duties which is a bit of a savings.

Thanks for checking for me. I guess this repair will have to wait a while. I still have to do my powersteering belt (bolt is seized) and my inner control arms. Since the track day is comming up soon, I think O2 sensor can wait.

Any idea if having a bad O2 sensor will damage the engine? Improper fuel mixture, too rich or too lean?

Thanks,

Bry

Furious
07-29-2003, 08:27 PM
shouldnt damage the engine, because its basically only running rich. but over time if not attended to you can ruin your catylitic.also your gonna spend some major money on gas. soon the better.

Autotechnica
07-30-2003, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by Furious325is
shouldnt damage the engine, because its basically only running rich. but over time if not attended to you can ruin your catylitic.also your gonna spend some major money on gas. soon the better.

Thanks for the advice. My car is definitly running rich. When I start the car in the morning and let it run on idle for less than a minute, I can already smell the mixture is running way too rich. I think if my cat goes I'll just get it hollowed out.

Bry

Autotechnica
07-30-2003, 03:46 PM
So does anyone know how to install the O2 sensor? I'm quite handy and I just need a general idea as to what to look for or do. I've replaced lots of stuff on my own already.

thanks,

Bry

djcontra
07-30-2003, 04:03 PM
There's a HOW-To in my haynes manual. it doesn't look too hard, but it looks like you need a hoist of some kind, or jack the car up on stands to get right under it.

KIRASIR
07-30-2003, 04:22 PM
1)Jack up the car
2)unplug the O2 sensor connector
3)unscrew the sensor with a wrench
4)screw the new one in
5)connect the new sensor
6)you are done.

I can't remember for sure what size of the wrench you need, but I believe it's 22mm.

Not counting the time it takes to jack up the car, the whole procedure should take 5 min or so. That's assuming that you can
get the old sensor loose right away. You might need some penetrating oil, and a wrench with long handle.

SL

Originally posted by Autotechnica
So does anyone know how to install the O2 sensor? I'm quite handy and I just need a general idea as to what to look for or do. I've replaced lots of stuff on my own already.

thanks,

Bry

Autotechnica
07-31-2003, 12:52 AM
Originally posted by KIRASIR
1)Jack up the car
2)unplug the O2 sensor connector
3)unscrew the sensor with a wrench
4)screw the new one in
5)connect the new sensor
6)you are done.

I can't remember for sure what size of the wrench you need, but I believe it's 22mm.

Not counting the time it takes to jack up the car, the whole procedure should take 5 min or so. That's assuming that you can
get the old sensor loose right away. You might need some penetrating oil, and a wrench with long handle.

SL

22mm?! Jesus, I guess I'll be heading off to Canadian Tire to get some tools.

Where exactly is the O2 sensor located? Is there a cover, etc. What should I look for?

Thanks,

Bryan

Furious
07-31-2003, 01:42 AM
O2 is located off the manifold just before the cataylitic. you cant miss it. its sticking out of the down pipe with a wire on it. follow the wire to the connection plug and you should be on your way

Autotechnica
07-31-2003, 02:39 AM
Thanks for the info Mark. Any idea what size bolt it is exactly? Have you done this yourself before?

Bry

Furious
07-31-2003, 02:41 AM
i cant remember either i think 22 sounds right, and ive done it before not on my car, on a 328