PDA

View Full Version : '98 Turbo M3


Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 04:36 AM
Specs;
AA OBD2 Turbo Kit-Low boost 7.5psi and high boost 8.5psi. Turbo can do 10psi but with race fuel only. 328rwhp and 339ft.lbs torque at 9psi.

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 04:38 AM
AA Lightweight Flywheel
AA High Performance Clutch Kit
AA Water Injection

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 04:39 AM
AA Level III Short Shifter
AA Rear Toe Bushings
AA Rear Shock Tower Brace
H&R Coilovers
UUC TME Bushings
SO3's

Soldo
07-05-2003, 06:21 AM
what color is that, TECHNO VIOLET?!car looks good either way, i love it how the intake is on the OPPOSITE side of the engine bay 'when its turbo'd!

Jon@Bimmersport
07-05-2003, 06:36 AM
why is max boost 10psi? turbo size or compression limiting your boost amount???

nice ride..

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 06:45 AM
Yes it is Techno Violet.

A few things that limits my boost... Siemens Engine Management System (OBD2), stock compression of 10.5:1, and fuel injectors.

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 06:46 AM
During the installation.

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 06:46 AM
The turbo

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 06:47 AM
the intercooler

Jon@Bimmersport
07-05-2003, 07:04 AM
you have a perf. chip in ur car? if you did the OBD1 conversion would you be able to run more boost?

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 07:28 AM
The turbo kit was installed by myself with lots of help from AA Tuning. The software was also dyno tuned by Karl Hugh at AA Tuning.

If I wanted to run more boost, I would have to lower the compression to 8.5:1 (AA Low Compression Head Gasket Kit), OBD1 Conversion, larger air mass sensor, larger fuel injectors, high flow fuel pump, straight pipe exhaust, and different spec wastegate/blow off valve to run about 15psi. This should yield to about 470hp and close to 500ft.lbs torque.

Jon@Bimmersport
07-05-2003, 03:08 PM
i c..i had a feeling about this..

i was getting a t26 turbo and manifold for cheap..so im picking it up (dont got a car yet either) and i know im getting 325is...but with this new job im starting, it is easy to make tons of money..so one member bought an M3 within 1 month of this job, so i figured in a year or 2 i can surely get one and afford it...

Now, if i were to slap the turbo on a 95 M3 would i have to send the tuning to karl? i dont want problems so i would want it done right...did you have to do all that because you had OBD2? what if i were to convert the OBD to OBD1 right when i got it, and then added the turbo?

the t26 maxes out at i think 15psi...i think 470hp and 500ft lbs of torque sounds good to me :D

e30mpowerd
07-05-2003, 03:19 PM
very awesome do u have a vidoe for it

mpower1226
07-05-2003, 03:49 PM
Originally posted by E46_lover
i c..i had a feeling about this..

i was getting a t26 turbo and manifold for cheap..so im picking it up (dont got a car yet either) and i know im getting 325is...but with this new job im starting, it is easy to make tons of money..so one member bought an M3 within 1 month of this job, so i figured in a year or 2 i can surely get one and afford it...

Now, if i were to slap the turbo on a 95 M3 would i have to send the tuning to karl? i dont want problems so i would want it done right...did you have to do all that because you had OBD2? what if i were to convert the OBD to OBD1 right when i got it, and then added the turbo?

the t26 maxes out at i think 15psi...i think 470hp and 500ft lbs of torque sounds good to me :D

you are not starting WMA or whatever, are you jon?...

Jon@Bimmersport
07-05-2003, 03:56 PM
Originally posted by mpower1226
you are not starting WMA or whatever, are you jon?...

wats WMA?

Jon@MPerformance
07-05-2003, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by E46_lover
i c..i had a feeling about this..

i was getting a t26 turbo and manifold for cheap..so im picking it up (dont got a car yet either) and i know im getting 325is...but with this new job im starting, it is easy to make tons of money..so one member bought an M3 within 1 month of this job, so i figured in a year or 2 i can surely get one and afford it...

Now, if i were to slap the turbo on a 95 M3 would i have to send the tuning to karl? i dont want problems so i would want it done right...did you have to do all that because you had OBD2? what if i were to convert the OBD to OBD1 right when i got it, and then added the turbo?

the t26 maxes out at i think 15psi...i think 470hp and 500ft lbs of torque sounds good to me :D

AA may not have software for the turbo you're getting. Best thing to do is to simply buy a kit from AA. If thats too much, you can still do custom turbo but you're going to have to ship the car to AA so that they can tune the car on the dyno and that's almost $2k right there.

If anything I would get a 95 M3 and slap on a Stage 2 turbo kit with a T60-1 Turbo.

Euro_E30
07-05-2003, 11:04 PM
holy shit that is sick!!!!!!!!!! unbeleiveable:eek: *th-up* *th-up*
that must of been so much work.....

DbIiRrTdY
07-06-2003, 01:35 AM
BMWGuy206,

welcome - seen you on m3forums! very nice ride :) ... If you remember my car was the one that was misfiring and i posted that forum (thanks for the help btw). Well the problem is not solved yet (not a vacuum leak) it is at an auto shop right now probably will be there for a little bit of time.

Anyhow - welcome

SpoolinS6
07-06-2003, 02:17 AM
nice ride dude race and ricers yet ? and show them what bimmers are made of?

-=[[f|L@pJ@cK=]
07-06-2003, 02:32 AM
Nice ride man! love the colour *th-up*

Jon@Bimmersport
07-06-2003, 06:04 AM
Originally posted by BMWguy206
AA may not have software for the turbo you're getting. Best thing to do is to simply buy a kit from AA. If thats too much, you can still do custom turbo but you're going to have to ship the car to AA so that they can tune the car on the dyno and that's almost $2k right there.

If anything I would get a 95 M3 and slap on a Stage 2 turbo kit with a T60-1 Turbo.

AA first of all is too far, im in T.O man..and second..im not paying that much...im finding out all the info now...i had some word i will need to tune the chip, and some that i will not..i guess it all depends on what my A/F ratio is???? im not sure really..i wish i had the money for AA turbo as well...but i dont even know the $$$ (or license yet..soon!) for me to be able to get the car and drive it..let alone turbo it

if its dyno tuning i know someone who can hook that up for me...its just the tuner who i need who has done this...maybe markD..maybe before i slap this on ill look around for someone to tune it...my main concern is what makes you have to tune the chip..the A/F ratio?