PDA

View Full Version : can this run in an e30?


windsor318is
06-26-2003, 03:04 PM
will a 3.0 e46 engine run in an e30? not sure if these are obdII or not, anyone have any info, or do e30 guys have to stick with the e36 engines:confused:

heres the linky (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=33615&item=2420344926)

WASABI
06-26-2003, 04:50 PM
Pretty sure it will fit/run. Anything is possible if you're willing to $pend the dough. e46s are OBD-II.

windsor318is
06-27-2003, 05:47 AM
is this motor still considered the m50?

RANDY or BIMMERSPORT, any info, is this as simple as the 2.5?

EMPOWERD
06-28-2003, 02:11 PM
As far as I know, none of the new E46 motors are transplantable in older-technology cars. You might find a way around it by using the head & block only, then use the OBD-1 M50 hardware (manifold, TB, AFM etc...). I couldn't tell you if they fit into the physical motor. You'd also need an OBD-1 harness and ECU to get it running. If you want all those headaches... you might aswell get an S54 or at least a 330i motor with more ponies.

The reason why these OBD-2 cars are so hard to use as donors is because the computers systems in them are so advanced. The coded key runs a full car diagnostics when inserted into the ignition and started in the E46's. If 1 wire or sensor is wrong, it simply won't run. Very fussy.

windsor318is
06-28-2003, 05:02 PM
thanks for clearing that up randy, ill keep my eyes peeled for e36 obd1 engines then.*th-up*

Jon@Bimmersport
06-28-2003, 05:45 PM
theres an M50 for sale..1992, everything except oil pan is included for your swap, and also tranny because i was going to tell my bro (he can use E30 325 tranny on M50)

windsor318is
06-28-2003, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by E46_lover
theres an M50 for sale..1992, everything except oil pan is included for your swap, and also tranny because i was going to tell my bro (he can use E30 325 tranny on M50)

im really in no hurry, im probably going to do it next summer, i just wanted to make sure i dont by a motor that is a pain in the ass to install