PDA

View Full Version : Car wont crank after chip install


/Alessandro\
12-13-2012, 04:22 PM
Hey guys, so I installed a TMS chip the other day (notch to notch, it was not in backwards) and when I went to start the car it would crank but wouldnt turn over, I heard of some people having to crank their cars a bit after chip installs so I cranked it a few times and nothing. So I thought no big deal probably a bad chip put the stock one back in crank the car sounded like it wanted to turn over then I heard a bang from the engine and now she doesnt crank anymore.

Anybody have any idea? I spoke to Rocco we we're thinking the plugs could be soaked with fuel so I took them out, dirty but no fuel on them. So we're thinking fried ecu. Anybody ever witness something like this before?

cormier
12-13-2012, 05:47 PM
When you took the dme in and out it went back into the connector nicely?

ZiMMie
12-13-2012, 10:58 PM
its the chip. You got a chip for a silver label ECU (EWS). You need one for a non ews red label.

Dinanstu
12-14-2012, 07:04 AM
I agree. Wrong chip and put the battery on the charger...

/Alessandro\
12-17-2012, 11:00 PM
So I put in another ECU from a different car started her up right away idle was rough for a bit but its running great now..So Im guessing I fried the ECU somehow

Dinanstu
12-18-2012, 07:00 AM
You never mentioned if you removed the TMS chip and reinstalled the factory one to verify that it was the chip prior to swapping ECU...

sb_600
12-18-2012, 12:05 PM
You never mentioned if you removed the TMS chip and reinstalled the factory one to verify that it was the chip prior to swapping ECU...

Yes he did, it says in the first post.


A good way to tell if the ECU is fried (ask me how I know) is if you turn the key to on (without starting it) and the CEL doesn't come on.

Dinanstu
12-18-2012, 01:12 PM
So he did...

I have to stop drinking at work..!

/Alessandro\
12-23-2012, 09:01 PM
Yep shes running good now