PDA

View Full Version : Gauge cluster randomly cuts out


jay01_brown
11-27-2012, 11:48 AM
On the road today and all my gauges cut out on me. 10 mins later... Working again.... This has happened about 5 times since. Is this a common problem??
Easy fix?
It's not affecting performance but I don't know how fast I'm going/revs I'm at
Any help would be great

J

jay01_brown
11-28-2012, 08:11 PM
Anybody?

jay01_brown
12-01-2012, 07:30 PM
looking for some feedback guys

cormier
12-01-2012, 09:05 PM
Have you tried smacking it when it cuts out? Works for e30s :p

Maybe post on BFc they have a lot of e36 guys around

Ceeker
12-02-2012, 09:06 AM
most probably the gauge itself or the prongs going from the gauge to the circuit board may not be making full contact. Mine does this when it cold and then after a while starts working as things warm up. could possibly be the nicad batteries in the cluster it self. they start getting weak and begin creating intermittent problems. and or a loose cold solder joint.

someguy
12-04-2012, 02:10 PM
Hmm..I had a similar problem on my previous E36, but it was more with the cluster lighting, not the gauges themselves. Turned out to be the infamous Trunk wiring fraying issue. (https://www.google.ca/#hl=en&safe=off&tbo=d&biw=1366&bih=636&sclient=psy-ab&q=e36+trunk+wiring+problem&oq=e36+trunk+wi&gs_l=hp.4.3.0l3j0i30.618.2957.0.5598.12.10.0.2.2.1 .696.3576.0j3j2j1j2j2.10.0.les%3B..0.0...1c.1.71oM GCibvqk&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&fp=c15a81358fbcecf2&bpcl=39580677).

Nguyen_E30
12-04-2012, 03:00 PM
happened to mine. you need to replace it.