PDA

View Full Version : lf: ms43 330i dme


rider-.
03-25-2011, 01:33 AM
Looking for an ms43, can ONLY be from a 330i, please let me know what you have.

Thank you.

Also I am only interested in the dme, none of that ews crap and other stuff.

rider-.
03-27-2011, 07:21 PM
bump!

ScotcH
03-28-2011, 01:19 AM
I have it. From a 2000 330i. PM me an offer.

Eurostyle
03-28-2011, 02:36 AM
Looking for an ms43, can ONLY be from a 330i, please let me know what you have.

Thank you.

Also I am only interested in the dme, none of that ews crap and other stuff.

FYI, they are NOT 330 specific! It even has the same part # as the other M54's (not 323/328!)...So anything from 320/325 will be the same. Newer 330 also wont work with early ones, just tryed that yesterday...*wave*

rider-.
03-28-2011, 02:42 AM
the hardware is the same, but the maps/software that is on them is different. ex. the 320i ecu apparently has older shittier software then the 330 ecu. All my info has been from what others have told me though, such as RMP and MarkD which I see as reputable sources. Also a place called Advanced Knowledge Automotive in Richmond Hill.

Also, newer 330 use Ms45 i believe. So thats probably why it didnt work for u.

Eurostyle
03-28-2011, 02:57 AM
the hardware is the same, but the maps/software that is on them is different. ex. the 320i ecu apparently has older shittier software then the 330 ecu. All my info has been from what others have told me though, such as RMP and MarkD which I see as reputable sources. Also a place called Advanced Knowledge Automotive in Richmond Hill.

Also, newer 330 use Ms45 i believe. So thats probably why it didnt work for u.

If they use the same part # from the factory, how is anyone to know if its made for 325 or a 330??? Real OEM has the same listings for all 320/325/330 DME...Software/maps changes every year, this is why the change part #'s so much...Reputable places have told me the DME is 5spd/auto specific, but according to part #'s they are not, and i have seen it work.

MarkD
03-28-2011, 02:04 PM
If they use the same part # from the factory, how is anyone to know if its made for 325 or a 330??? Real OEM has the same listings for all 320/325/330 DME...Software/maps changes every year, this is why the change part #'s so much...Reputable places have told me the DME is 5spd/auto specific, but according to part #'s they are not, and i have seen it work.

The VIN is on a label on each DME. Enter that into any VIN decoder and you can tell what sort of car the DME came from.

Renboy
03-28-2011, 05:33 PM
If one from a '01 325Ci will work for you, I have one.

Eurostyle
03-28-2011, 05:42 PM
The VIN is on a label on each DME. Enter that into any VIN decoder and you can tell what sort of car the DME came from.

I know that! Buy if I go to BMW and order by part #, how do they know what car it's going to, if the part # is the same on both parts!?

ScotcH
03-28-2011, 07:58 PM
I know that! Buy if I go to BMW and order by part #, how do they know what car it's going to, if the part # is the same on both parts!?

I'm guessing they flash it to the match the VIN, hence the engine that the car has before they hand it over to you at the dealer.

MarkD
03-28-2011, 08:00 PM
I'm guessing they flash it to the match the VIN, hence the engine that the car has before they hand it over to you at the dealer.

That is correct. When you get a virgin ECU, you have to flash it with the proper code for the car it is going into. If you use a GT-1 and Progman/SSS, it asks you for the VIN of the car and then it knows how to properly program it.

MarkD
03-28-2011, 08:01 PM
I know that! Buy if I go to BMW and order by part #, how do they know what car it's going to, if the part # is the same on both parts!?

They probably don't know unless you tell them. But you should not have to as it would be flashed once it's installed in the car. The base part number and the programmed parts numbers differ.