PDA

View Full Version : Is there a webpage DIY for brake lines?

Autotechnica
03-31-2003, 09:49 PM
I just ordered a set of stainless steel braided brake lines from BMP (Earl's), my buddy says they are a snap to install and all I need is a jack and some house hold tools. Since I have limited knowledge when it comes to my braking system I was wondering if anyone knew of a website that could help, or if you could post what do to on here I would appreicate it a lot. Thanks!

Bry

Gamite
04-01-2003, 04:39 AM
Dont you have to bleed the system?

(psst, brake fluid gives you cancer... jp.. but it DID kill charlie's grass)

GR8 Ride
04-01-2003, 01:26 PM
Bryan,

Brake lines are fairly simple, especially in the front. You might want to have a spare rubber plug or two to avoid losing too much brake fluid.

Outside of a decent set of metric wrenches, you don't really need much to change brake lines (except a buddy, to help you bleed the brakes afterward). Oh, and some spare brake fluid.

Pat

Autotechnica
04-01-2003, 02:24 PM
Originally posted by GR8 Ride
Bryan,

Brake lines are fairly simple, especially in the front. You might want to have a spare rubber plug or two to avoid losing too much brake fluid.

Outside of a decent set of metric wrenches, you don't really need much to change brake lines (except a buddy, to help you bleed the brakes afterward). Oh, and some spare brake fluid.

Pat

Pat,

The problem is, I actually don't know where to begin. When I removed my wheels and Charlie helped me install my Bilstein struts I remember the brake lines were tied onto a clip which was attached to my struts. Do I have to disconnect the brake lines from somewhere in the engine bay? Also, will I need to re-adjust certain things after the install? I've looked for the brake vaccum pump in my engine bay and the problem could be that I have no clue what it looks like.

I was thinking of replacing my old brake fluid w/ ATE superblue, is this any good?

Thanks,

Bryan

Autotechnica