PDA

View Full Version : Vanos system


AlpWhitE46
04-07-2010, 03:20 PM
Hey guys I was wondering if you could help me out,

I went to a mechanic to check on the computer what my check engine light was for... The code was 102 and 104 i think (for 320i e46)

It was something along the line of Vanos exhaust blocked.. and something else with camshaft...


I had problems in the past a couple of times where i would turn the engine on and it seemed like it was working on 2 less cylinders. The car would barely stay turned on, and would turn off, or if i rev it the RPM would drop and turn the car off... It would struggle to turn on but it turned on and worked fine. This happened maybe 3 times in a year...

Now the light is constantly on, since yesterday, however the car runs ok, just when idling it is a little bit shakier.


How much would it cost to clear this up?
I saw this site also...
http://drvanos.com/

$250 for the whole system...

Any help would be appreciated

AlpWhitE46
04-07-2010, 05:05 PM
I read more about it from E46fanatics:

I read from e46 fanatics:

Search for Vanos Repair Procedure on this forum, and you will get a 300+ page thread that has over 100 people who have done this repair, about 90 of them successful on the 1st try.

An Old lady has done this repair, just follow Beisen Seals website tutorial, its very straight forward.


Basically i should get the seals from here

http://www.beisansystems.com/procedures/index.html

Young Gun
04-08-2010, 03:50 PM
You can get the seals from Besian but from what I understand the inner cylinder walls of the vanos units get worn so you may not have a perfect seal.

I got a remachined and replaced seals unit from Dr. Vanos... much pricier but I did it for piece of mind. My Vanos switchover took me about 2-3 hours. Yours should be a little longer because you will be taking apart the unit to replace the seals.

Also make a point of lubricating the inner cylinder walls before you put the unit back together.

It was a fun job tho. It will also fix any hesitation that the faulty seals have caused you, I found my powerband to be smoother.