PDA

View Full Version : need help!! got rear ended (Dec.31st of 2009)

alpine86
01-01-2010, 05:23 PM
hey guys..

First of all happy new year!

Yesterday night around 9pm me and my gf were heading to the restaurant and I was stop at the red light on Avenue Rd. (avenue and St.Clair)

Then a lady driver rear ended my car. This is my first time got into the accident and good that at least it's not my fault.

She kept saying that she is late for the dinner and she claims that she is a nurse .

I got her insurance information, car plate number, home and work phone number.

Here is the damage. She asked me to call her first to give her estimate before I call her insurance company. I think she wants to settle this with cash.

Now what should I do? Since it's not my fault and damage doesn't seem big so should I just get the estimate from BMW dealership and ask her if she still wants to settle with cash?

Looks like my bumper needs repaint and realigned.

For the estimate where should I take my car? dealership or local body shop?

I know this is a big hassle from beginning of the year and I want to know how much compensate that I need to get from her. I am not trying to rip her off but since I need to spend my time to travel 1-2 bodyshops and I need to leave my car there for several days. Probably I need a rental car as well.

Any suggestion?

http://i840.photobucket.com/albums/zz323/iloveu86/DSC00555.jpg

http://i840.photobucket.com/albums/zz323/iloveu86/DSC00558.jpg

http://i840.photobucket.com/albums/zz323/iloveu86/DSC00562.jpg

325isStephen
01-01-2010, 05:44 PM
I would settle it cash if she's willing to do so. Regardless if its you're fault or not it doesn't look good on your insurance to mention it to them, it will also show up when the VIN is searched so thats another thing to think about.

fadi03325i
01-01-2010, 10:14 PM
I've been through this process before, the best way to do this is as follows -