PDA

View Full Version : By-passing the Amp? Help!


Singhle
08-06-2009, 12:45 PM
Okay guys, so I've ordered a 7" flip out dvd/cd deck for my Z4. The installer put it in but couldnt get it towork a few weeks ago. I just called him and he said he'd have to by-pass the amplifier to make it work since there was no module available for my car (No idea what this means)

Would this be okay?? Would the sound quality suffer from this??

Help!:confused:

bigfeller
09-16-2009, 04:45 PM
What kind of car? Z4? Does the head unit have an internal amp with speaker-level outputs? Stock BMW amps are designed to accept either 'balanced differential outputs' which are closer in nature to a speaker-level outputs, OR a fibre optic connection from the headunit.

With E90 cars for example, any of the premium sound systems (H/K or Logic 7) use the fibre connection, so there is no way to send their amps a signal from an aftermarket head unit. I don't know if this applies to your Z4 or not.

The best thing for you to do would be to buy a good 4 channel amp, a decent set of 6-1/2" component speakers, and a small sub mounted in the trunk. Unfortunately, with a lot of BMW systems, you really have to replace nearly the entire thing to acheive better sound quality or output.

bigfeller
09-16-2009, 04:58 PM
PS- For those who would like to know more about balanced differential outputs, click here (http://books.google.ca/books?id=d7ft6F8ZUdcC&pg=RA3-PA167&lpg=RA3-PA167&dq=%22balanced+differential+input%22&source=bl&ots=1gZNVtJ8as&sig=_pZTQmdBgZ1_kddEMQ1pWvlNXeA&hl=en&ei=z0-xStrxIt6G8Qa2ioGTBA&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=9#v=onepage&q=%22balanced%20differential%20input%22&f=false).