PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Gauge Dancing

325ixE30
06-11-2009, 01:51 PM
I just bought my 2nd E30, a 91 318is in April and it does something my 90 325ix did all the time.

The fuel gauge moves about all the time. If you tap on it the needle will go to where it should be.

Is this a common problem for E30's?

The next question is obvious, is there an easy fix?

I'm sure its a loose or corroded wiring problem, or sending unit..... but I'm no expert.....

BigD
06-11-2009, 02:01 PM
Yeah this is pretty typical when a ground connection is loose somewhere (not exclusive to the fuel gauge). The gauges ground against the board on the back, through a threaded post. When the nuts that hold it in work themselves loose in time, the gauge goes funky. Pull the cluster and tighten them (or find a new one if you've lost one).

325ixE30
06-11-2009, 02:34 PM
Is pulling the cluster an easy DIY? (I don't want to mess anything up)

BigD
06-11-2009, 02:46 PM
Is pulling the cluster an easy DIY? (I don't want to mess anything up)

Unless you have an airbag, yeah it's easy. I've never tried pulling the cluster with the wheel in place but maybe it's possible. Without an airbag:
-pop out your horn button
-undo the big nut that holds the wheel on (center the wheel first, and reinstall it centered, so you don't end up with a wonky steering wheel)
-remove the thumb nuts behind the lower edge of the cluster to remove the trim piece above the steering column
-this will expose the screws on the bottom edge of the cluster
-some of the screws hold down a plastic trim piece that goes all around the cluster, remove this
-after removing the trim piece, you'll see the screws on the bottom edge of the cluster which hold it in, and two screws at the top of the hood holding
-the top two screws hold down two long tabs, pull these down gently (they're recessed into the dash) and roll the cluster forward