PDA

View Full Version : a little e30 newbie info

moock
06-09-2009, 07:42 PM
i'm a self-proclaimed e30 newbie, but i've been taking notes on the upgrades i've done to my car over the past few years. just in case anyone else is new to e30s and wondering what some of the common upgrades feel like, i posted a journal:

http://www.moock.org/e30/

upgrades i've done:

* rims and tires
* short shifter
* performance brakes
* air filter & heat shield
* sports seats
* steering rack swap
* differential
* ecu chip
* shocks/springs/swaybars

disclaimer: i'm no mechanic, and no expert. corrections welcome!

*ducks*

davericher20
06-09-2009, 07:54 PM
where do you live? I went to Daniels auto a couple times

And that's an awesome write-up, keep it up!

Rezae32
06-09-2009, 08:00 PM
Good write up but I'm not sure about some of the prices that you have listed...I've done a few of those upgrades for a lot less...

craz azn
06-09-2009, 08:02 PM
Colin! Long time no see here on maX... I heard you were at the driving school this past weekend, how did it go?

moock
06-09-2009, 08:04 PM
@davericher20 i live in toronto
@rezae32 ya, i'm sure i'm not getting the best prices, but i find i end up paying a little more because i'm not an expert, so i play it safe. e.g., i bought a steering rack "conversion kit" instead of sourcing my own used rack. i track the car, so i'm willing to pay a little premium for peace of mind that the parts are in good shape and installed correctly. mechanics and more seasoned owners could probably do the same stuff i've done for less...

moock
06-09-2009, 08:06 PM
yo rudy!
mosport was *incredible*. first time there. i'm still on a high. the track was spectacular! and the car ran great. only shitty thing was i accidentally left my helmet on the ground by the class room overnight and someone walked off with it : (

craz azn
06-09-2009, 08:10 PM