PDA

View Full Version : E30 Alignment

kamus
04-02-2009, 04:37 PM
Soooo... I had a new steering rack and tie rods installed. The installer recommended that I have the alignment checked - he had done the best he could but said my car was "too low for his tools".

So I went to an Active Green & Ross. They said that because my car is lowered, their alignment software is not likely to provide the correct settings. Now I know fo shizzle I'm not the only person with a lowered vehicle - my problem though is that it was done by a previous owner, and I'm not technically minded enough to know the specifications of the changes made, nor the alignment settings to ask for.

So - do I have to tell them the settings I want - or can I safely ask for whatever the computer tells them for an 87 stock setup? Oh and one last point, the car does not pull left or right.. but around 140km/h you can feel a very slight shudder through the steering wheel.

Appreciate any thoughts - including jokes about my being like Cole Trickle.. "they put me in a car and aaa jus drove it" :)

InfiniteDice
04-02-2009, 04:47 PM
Last year I did a self align by driving somewhere level, let go of the wheel etc... turn tie rod 1/4 turn. On and on till it felt right.

I'd say keep the car neutral, if anything a slight toe in. The only adjustment to be made is with the tie-rods. You can remove negative camber with camber correcting strut mounts.

Lowering changes alot of aspects, I'm not going to pretend to be any kind of expert. In my case I adjust it till I can live with it and the car drives straight. It shouldn't pull left or right, and turns should be nice, and responsive.

richie_s999
04-02-2009, 06:53 PM
Go to a shop that specalizes in front end work just get the toe set should only cost around 60 bucks

apriliadr
05-04-2009, 06:39 PM
how much did the steering rack cost including labour installation?

Ceeker
05-04-2009, 08:08 PM