PDA

View Full Version : e-test w/ chip


Engin33r
03-31-2009, 10:08 AM
Last time i did an etest, i marginally passed, and I suspect the Mark D chip might be the culprit.

I have an etest coming up, and I'm not sure whether or not I should swap back in the stock chip, or leave the MarkD chip. I've got new plugs, 02 sensor, and muffler, but i'm afraid the chip just dumps too much fuel in.

anyone had any troubles w/ this chip?

/m

T.Dot_E30
03-31-2009, 10:29 AM
Not the culprit, i passed cleaner with my chip in the car even thou it was a year later.

Which gas was higher or close to the limit?

Engin33r
03-31-2009, 10:32 AM
Which gas was higher or close to the limit?


Huh?

T.Dot_E30
03-31-2009, 10:35 AM
Huh?

You mentioned you marginally passed, usually if you post the numbers (NO2, CO2...) they can be indicators of wat may be the cause.

Engin33r
03-31-2009, 10:45 AM
ahh, gotcha.

Car is still in storage. I have to roll with a temp sticker to get it tested.

Since this is the oldest car I own, and never had to do an etest before.... Is crappy tire the best bet?

E30M42cab
03-31-2009, 12:17 PM
Not the culprit, i passed cleaner with my chip in the car even thou it was a year later.
Likewise. My cars are cleaner with Dinan chips than stock.

Ej_Red
04-14-2009, 08:19 PM
If you put all those parts in just now and the car wasn't driven don't go for the test right away. The ecu has to adopt to all the changes you've made. Otherwise, it will fail.