PDA

View Full Version : flooded car and insurance Trouble

derkleineman
02-03-2009, 12:27 PM
My car was flooded 88 BMW E30 about knee height on december 28th and I had comprehensive coverage on the car for flood fire and so on .
I went to my insurance company state farm and reported the claim after about 4 weeks they got back to me and said the damage is under my deductible $500 dollar they said only the carpet needs to be cleaned I was like what !!??? thatís bull .

How you want to clean a wet smelly carpet ? And whatís with all the rest like electric parts what where submerged with water??

I need some input on things I can do !
Also the DME fright because it was lose on the passenger floor I told them that the car shut off after I tried to start it

Thanks guys

e36_freak
02-03-2009, 12:33 PM
i work in insurance claims. did the adjuster come out and take a look at the car? basically when theres water damage especially like u said knee high. the car is a write off because of damage to electrical systems and other hazards that can come out because of that. so basically call your adjuster back and request that he takes a closer look at your car. alot of times you gotta fight for your claim.

Manimillion
02-03-2009, 12:34 PM
Take it to a garage, get them to check up the car, and exactly write up what has been damaged by the flooding, and the total cost of repairs.

Make sure you get the name and the contact information of the licensed mechanic who inspects the car. Make a copy of the estimate, call you insurance company, and either fax it or mail it to them.

derkleineman
02-03-2009, 12:41 PM
there was a adjuster comming out and he gave a quote for replacing the carpet that was about 2 weeks ago in the mean time i had to dispose the car as i had no storrage and so on for it :( is ther some one who could help me obtain a quote for the repairs, the insurence company said the water was knee deep thats a good thing to start i guess

Manimillion
02-03-2009, 01:11 PM