PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong? Can't remove the wheels on my E39.

richmak
10-25-2008, 11:55 PM
Need some advice here.

This is my first time changing the wheels on my 525iT. Don't take me wrong I have changed my summer/winter setup many times on my E46 convertible so I kind of know I am doing.

Today I prepared my winter set of wheels and I thought I was ready to change the wheels/tires on my wagon. I started with the left-front wheel ... loose the bolts, jack up the car, remove all 5 bolts ... and damn, I cannot remove the wheel from the hub. It's almost like something else is still locking the wheel. I tried shaking it, slamming and kicking the wheels hoping it is just seized ... no luck. I put back the bolts and tried the right-front wheel ... same result.

This car has just been fully inspected by a BMW dealer 2 months ago and I don't believe the wheel is seized ... must be something else.

Any ideas folks? Thanks in advance.

Eurostyle
10-26-2008, 12:14 AM
If you have all 5 bolts off, then thats IT, the wheels are just stuck. One SURE way off getting them off; put the bolts back on, but not all the way in (about 1 turn away), take the car out for a ride and make a sharp turn, you will feel the wheel snap off, at this point SLOWLY take the car back and remove the wheel, repeat for all seized rims! *wave*

BoostedMX
10-26-2008, 12:24 AM
LOL! ^^

I wouldn't try that. Just take all 5 nuts off and just bang on it, you'll get it.

Eurostyle
10-26-2008, 12:46 AM
LOL! ^^

I wouldn't try that. Just take all 5 nuts off and just bang on it, you'll get it.

And why not?? Sometimes hitting it wont work, even a BIG hammer/axe doesnt do anything...This was shown to me by auto teacher back in highschool, and 10 years later, still the ONLY way that always works!

speedemn
10-26-2008, 03:28 AM
Need some advice here.