PDA

View Full Version : New here, and new E30 Driver got quesitons

vinnie mack
10-06-2008, 10:00 PM
Hey guys, just picked up an 87 e30 325i (2.5). I am new to BMWs and e30s so please excuse any dumb questions. However I am not new to cars in general, trust me.

The car is great, runs great but on the drive home i noticed:

A. holy crap the pedals are close together
B. is it small in there or just me? (6'1)

Some technical questions I have that may be normal or not just double checking.

I got quite a bit of slop in the shifter how normal is normal? or should it be nice and tight in gears.

Factory fog light switch but no fogs, is there wiring in there I can use?, I got some nice rally style Hellas I want to hook up.

Last but not least I haven't done a full tune-up yet but the throttle response is quite "meh", should it be? I wasn't hoping for it to do Warp 9 or anything but it seems quite sluggish.

Thanks in advance!*th-up*

El Gato Liso
10-06-2008, 11:38 PM
yes the pedals ARE closer together
i noticed that too, but trust me you'll get use to it

and heeltoeing is gonna be easier lolol
stock shifter is very limp. nothing like a short shifter cant fix!

check for vacuum leaks, new spark plugs, clean airbox filter, throw in some injector cleaner with high grade fuel, not much though almost on dead empty tank

vinnie mack
10-07-2008, 09:50 AM
thanks for the tips. What plugs are recommended for these motors? Stick with Bosch or will any do the job?.

supernaught
10-07-2008, 10:22 AM
do not get the platinum, it will be argued but stay away. Bosch coppers(Supers if you can find them) are the way to go.
And yes, the pedals are very close together. I'm 6'2 with sz 14s. Rallycross is fun. also, some hellas would be sweet. There should be wiring there, but if there isnt, you can run new wiring - but first - get a manual so you can see some diagrams.

Wannabe
10-07-2008, 07:04 PM