PDA

View Full Version : FS: S52 Cams


DANIMAL
07-28-2008, 08:47 AM
Got a set of S52 Cams for sale. Not sure how many km's are on them. In good shape. I bought these off of Soldo but I have decided to go with a different set of cams.

$350.

98Dinan3
07-28-2008, 04:06 PM
This is one of the best mods you can do on an OBDII 323 or 328. Put it together with an M50 manifold and you have some serious gains right there.

MarkD
07-28-2008, 04:22 PM
This is one of the best mods you can do on an OBDII 323 or 328. Put it together with an M50 manifold and you have some serious gains right there.


It works much better with the correct software also.

98Dinan3
07-28-2008, 04:32 PM
^^^ Hahaha shameless plug..... but you are right. It will work perfectly WITHOUT a reflash, but someone like, say Mark D' ,could really optimize the gains...:D

tig
07-28-2008, 05:09 PM
It works much better with the correct software also.

+1 i experienced this first hand didnt notice a big gain and the engine wasnt running smooth until mark installed the software on my 328

98Dinan3
07-28-2008, 05:40 PM
^^^ I don't think you gave the ECU enough time to adjust to the new setup. Resetting the DME adaptation values would have helped...atleast from what I've been told. I've seen plenty of guys on BF.c install the cams w/stock software and no issues at all with "rough running". Software will give the best gains, but you make it sound like it's essential.

MarkD
07-28-2008, 05:57 PM
^^^ I don't think you gave the ECU enough time to adjust to the new setup. Resetting the DME adaptation values would have helped...atleast from what I've been told. I've seen plenty of guys on BF.c install the cams w/stock software and no issues at all with "rough running". Software will give the best gains, but you make it sound like it's essential.


Well here's something to think about: if it wasn't essential for optimal performance, the M52 and S52 would run the same software and maps, but they don't. And isn't the goal optimal performance if you are going to the effort of changing the cams?

Sure it works with the original software, but it works much better with software made for those cams.


I developed the software for the s52 cams back in 2005. It makes a worthwile difference when you add s52 cams to this M52.

MarkD
07-28-2008, 06:01 PM
^^^ Hahaha shameless plug..... but you are right. It will work perfectly WITHOUT a reflash, but someone like, say Mark D' ,could really optimize the gains...:D


It will work, but I wouldn't say it works perfectly. If it was perfect with the original software, I wouldn't be able to improve on it, which I did.

I know it seems like a shamesless plug, but I'll be a sponsor this week so I think it's OK. Plus, I was surprised to find out at Bimmersport's BBQ that some people didn't realise I've had OBD-II software available since 2004. One person who won a discount coupon didn't even know I made OBD-II software, and he had my chip in his OBD-1 car till he sold it.

98Dinan3
07-28-2008, 06:35 PM
It will work, but I wouldn't say it works perfectly. If it was perfect with the original software, I wouldn't be able to improve on it, which I did.

I know it seems like a shamesless plug, but I'll be a sponsor this week so I think it's OK. Plus, I was surprised to find out at Bimmersport's BBQ that some people didn't realise I've had OBD-II software available since 2004. One person who won a discount coupon didn't even know I made OBD-II software, and he had my chip in his OBD-1 car till he sold it.

LOL... I really was just joking about the shameless plug part. I know how lucky we are, as a BMW community, to have someone of your expertise local to us. Most have to travel 100's, if not 1000's of kms to get to someone for a BMW tune.

Anyway, I guess "perfectly" was a bit of a misrepresentation. I should of said it will run "perfectly fine." I would definitely recommend the SW to go along with the cams, whether absolutely necessary or not. If you're going to do the swap, why not get the most power out of the setup right?

Ok...I'm getting the hell out of Dan's FS thread. GL with the sale Bro!

DANIMAL
07-29-2008, 09:09 AM
Thanks for the input guys. I will say that yes software will make a difference, however you will still gain by just putting them in.

I am not looking to trade for anything. These will be sold in two weeks if no one comes in with the cash before then.

kris 325
07-29-2008, 01:39 PM
Will this go in my m50 N/V ?

Thanks
-kris

dbworld4k
07-29-2008, 01:42 PM
Don't think so. You'll need the S50 cams.

kris 325
07-29-2008, 01:45 PM
shit OK thanks for the info I'm thinking of doing cams but i don't really need to cuz the m50 is in my e30 now and don't really feel like taking the old cams out sounds very hard and easy to break cams

///tyron
07-29-2008, 02:16 PM
Don't think so. You'll need the S50 cams.


u cant use s50 cams. s50's are vanos based motors. he needs to buy another intake cam and put it on the exhaust side that way he'll have 24?/24? compared to 24?/22?

dbworld4k
07-29-2008, 02:21 PM
^I stand corrected :)

Bump for a good seller!

DANIMAL
07-30-2008, 10:46 PM
Bump

doogee
08-01-2008, 10:39 AM
Seriously considering. I'll get back to you soon. Local too.

DANIMAL
08-11-2008, 09:41 PM
SOLD to the best Buyer I have ever dealt with. Thanks man!*th-up*

maroli
08-11-2008, 11:25 PM
love, brethren