PDA

View Full Version : E36 subwoofer setup


JunzieB
07-07-2008, 10:49 AM
Hey guys,

I have a four door E36 with no fold down seats and the skibag passthrough behind the armrest in the rear.
I was just wondering if anyone has pics of a subwoofer setup behind the armrest, pretty much eliminating the skibag especially since my ass doesn't ski.*shiner*

If you know how the setup is done and you can educate me on it, that would be helpful as well.

Would be great if someone has this setup locally:)

Thanks in advance*th-up*

tominizer
07-11-2008, 10:58 AM
Build a box to match the slope behind the rear seat............... stick a 12" in it ......... sealed box.............. carpet or rocker guard the box............ get an amp that has high level inputs ............. ground, power, speaker wire.......... tap in off the rear speakers............. DONE.

Sorry, no pictures

JunzieB
07-11-2008, 03:15 PM
Damn!!! You're making it sound easier that it probably is lol.. I'll have to look into that though. You're saying the power from the rear speakers should be suffice? Why do people normally hookup their power source right from the battery, any benefits?


Sorry if i sound like a noob. I'm a bit new to audio setups.

tominizer
07-11-2008, 03:34 PM
No........ no.

Two things. The sub needs to be fed the signal (music). That comes from the head unit through the speaker wires ............ which you tap into to feed an amplifier to amplify the signal. The existing system doesn't have enough juice to power a sub....... thus why you add an amp.

The OEM speaker lines can be tapped into to feed high level inputs to an amp (signal/music to the amp). Sorrry if that sounds confusing, but some amps have both low level inputs (RCA's) and high level inputs (speaker wire). RCA's run directly from the deck. If you don't want to run RCA's through your car, you can use the existing speaker wires. But the amp must have high level inputs.


The amp also need to have power run to it......... just like in a home system where you plug it into the wall.

How that clarifies this a bit !!

Mickey Knox
07-12-2008, 11:39 AM
as a reference high level inputs are also called speaker level input

Skeezix
07-14-2008, 10:56 PM
Here's a pic of the setup in my car. The sub is facing back because I have folding seats with no ski hole, along with the rear speakers being totally taken out. Same thing should work nice in your car with the sub facing forward. And it's a 15 inch.

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a36/boostinbob/BusaTrailerandBMWpics099a.jpg

Bullet Ride
07-15-2008, 08:33 AM
...... get an amp that has high level inputs

Or you can use a regular amp but you need to buy a line output converter (~$25) to drop the signal the same level that the deck would output to an amp for a sub.

JunzieB
07-15-2008, 10:26 AM
No........ no.

Two things. The sub needs to be fed the signal (music). That comes from the head unit through the speaker wires ............ which you tap into to feed an amplifier to amplify the signal. The existing system doesn't have enough juice to power a sub....... thus why you add an amp.

The OEM speaker lines can be tapped into to feed high level inputs to an amp (signal/music to the amp). Sorrry if that sounds confusing, but some amps have both low level inputs (RCA's) and high level inputs (speaker wire). RCA's run directly from the deck. If you don't want to run RCA's through your car, you can use the existing speaker wires. But the amp must have high level inputs.


The amp also need to have power run to it......... just like in a home system where you plug it into the wall.

How that clarifies this a bit !!

That does help to clarify it... I just wanted to make sure i wasn't entirely lost*shiner*


Here's a pic of the setup in my car. The sub is facing back because I have folding seats with no ski hole, along with the rear speakers being totally taken out. Same thing should work nice in your car with the sub facing forward. And it's a 15 inch.

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a36/boostinbob/BusaTrailerandBMWpics099a.jpg


That's a nice sub... I had two 15's before, got rid of them, then I had 2 12's now I'm just going to go with one 12. I think it's decent enough without taking up trunk space.

JunzieB
07-15-2008, 10:27 AM
Or you can use a regular amp but you need to buy a line output converter (~$25) to drop the signal the same level that the deck would output to an amp for a sub.

I'm assuming I can just grab that at any electronics store, or at least any future shop or best buy right?

Bullet Ride
07-15-2008, 11:41 AM
I'm assuming I can just grab that at any electronics store, or at least any future shop or best buy right?

I don't know specifically if futureshop sells that item on their shelves, but i assume that there are people that get sub boxes installed there that don't get there stock deck upgraded. So you can talk to one of their techs to find out what they do. If you already have an amp (that doesn't have high level inputs like tominizer mentioned) then you need the LOC, if you still need to buy an amp, it would be easier for you to get an amp that has highlevel inputs.


....or you can upgrade from your stock deck*th-up*

best thing to do is call up a local car audio installer and tell them what you have and what you want. Then ask them what you need and where you can get it.

Cheers.

$500bimmer
07-15-2008, 07:18 PM
i have one.....pm me for more info

tominizer
07-17-2008, 09:54 AM
Agreed............ also, if you have some wood skillz, you can always design the box and have it cut up at Home Depot............ on 3/4 MDF........ take it home......... assemble it, sand it nice-nice........... Canadian Tire for rocker guard to paint it.


Some more thoughts........ for the DIY-er

Or if you have some real jig-saw talent, you can actually cut the whole thing using a jig saw. Trick for getting straight lines is using a guide clamped down to the sheet of wood to guide the jig-saw along. When it comes time to cut the hole for the sub, draw it out on cardboard and cut with a knife to test fit. You want a nice snug fit. Then transfer your cardboard template to the wood................ drill a 3/4" hole and jig-saw out the template hole for the sub.

Min. 1.5" drywall screws and lotsa glue. The glue is actually the most important bonding agent in the long run. Pre-drill all your holes......lotsa screws ....... also counter sink them into the wood using a large diameter bit.

For the speaker wire, it comes with two strands in each cable....... if that makes sense....... a left and a right. I like to cut and pull those two strands apart and then drill two holes side by side into the box so the wire fit is nice and tight at the box wall.


Oh, and always think safety first. Especially safety glasses. Only takes a second to loose an eye. And measure twice, cut only once.

kikibike
07-17-2008, 10:46 PM
bazooka tube, done

1992e36is
08-13-2008, 02:35 AM
lol bazooka tube... please dont put that in:puke:

doogee
08-13-2008, 05:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ts7Tk-1xIA&feature=related

^ Might give you some ideas

Dr. Flyview
08-14-2008, 10:58 AM
Interesting, I didn't know you don't have to change your stock deck to fit an amp/sub.

LVP
08-26-2008, 07:52 PM
Here's the thread with pics of my setup. I have the ski bag hole. Stereo is still for sale - from a 1998 328 sedan. Cheers.

http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100001&highlight=grabs

hawgripper
09-06-2008, 06:09 AM
If you want to keep it real clean, Kicker makes a square 10" sub that will fit perfectly in the ski bag hole and you can still close up the arm rest.
They are not cheap thou, I think around the $200 mark.