PDA

View Full Version : Subwoofer question and looking for a 10" sub

magnaclout
07-01-2008, 03:14 PM
Am I losing big with 10" sub installed without an enclosure box?
My aging sub is installed in the trunk on the back of rear seat. Actually it's in between the 2 rear seats where the armrest is. There's an opening inbetween the 2 seats concealed by a black mesh cloth covering, so sound can get into the cabin when the armrest is pulled down. What do you guys think? Should I go for a box enclosure or the trunk as a one big enclosure will do. BIg difference?

And as per my thread title, Im also looking for a new or slightly used (1-2year old)10" sub. I have an Alpine that has served me well over the years but it's deteriorating and the bass is not as tight as it was.

What other brands are better if not equal to Alpine? Im not saying Alpine is the best.... Thanks

Bullet Ride
07-01-2008, 03:32 PM
I'm not an expert by any means, but i know that having the proper enclosure for a sub whether it be sealed, ported, bandpass etc, can make a big difference. Certain subs will hit harder depending on the box they are in and the box size can be used to tune the frequency that has the most pronounced resonance. You need to find a sub tuned for your trunk size since your trunk is your box :D...MTX jackhammer maybe:P

It's good that you have an opening from the trunk to the cabin though, it really increases the crispness of the bass, i hate it when people have subs in their trunk and all you hear is muffled bass. In those cases i'd rather have a good pair of 6x9's installed by the rear window and maybe even install a pair of 6" or 8" subwoofers up there as well.
All that aside JL Audio has good subs check out the 10w3v3.
Good luck.

Deep 3.2TL
07-01-2008, 03:38 PM
Free air subs can be pretty good - not as great as enclosure models, but worth listening to.

UltimateDriv
07-02-2008, 04:14 PM
yes go for the proper sub enclosure, built to the specs of the sub

someguy