PDA

View Full Version : No start diagnostics...please shed some light.

Luke318is
06-29-2008, 06:06 AM
Hi everyone, im looking for any technical help i can get here, before i pay for a tow to my shop.

Ok heres the deal: the car runs great when it decides to run, which is intermittent. I had the car at the shop and it started 10 times with no problems, so they gave it back. The next day it wont start again, and that was a week ago. Since then i have done a bunch of diagnostics to figure out the problem, now i am no mechanic, but i do have perserverence! so here is a list of what i have done.

FUEL SYSTEM: -No fuel coming to engine

-Replaced main relay
-Jumped the fuel pump relay at leads 87 and 30, which should force the fuel pump to run.
-Fuel pump did not run
-No voltage at fuel pump power connector
-Jumped the fuel pump with +12volt, fuel pump runs.
-fuel pump relay socket has voltage at all the right spots
-fuse 11 has no voltage, that is the fuel system fuse correct?
-deduced that power is not getting from fuel pump relay to fuse box,
-tried to crank the engine with pump running from +12volt jump
-engine no starts, and has NO spark from plug connected to the coil
-pulled computer and checked solder joints, no visible problems
-fuel pump is less than 6 months old
-i dont have a wiring diagram for the fuel pump system, so i dont know what path the signal takes from the relay back to the pump or whatever...

What could cause the engine to lose spark AND stop voltage from getting to the fuel pump power connector?

Im at a loss here...would like to find the problem instead of paying the shop to diagnose.

FuryriderX
06-29-2008, 10:06 AM
http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/3306/fuel1be8.jpg

maybe that will help you.

InfiniteDice
06-29-2008, 01:56 PM