PDA

View Full Version : Amp Help!!!


nick_star
05-13-2008, 11:09 PM
Hey,

I just got an amp but its not goving me any power. I pluged in the positive red cable to the battery and the ground wire to a bolt in my trunk due to my battery being in the trunk. and no power. then i tried the ground wire to the negitive side to the battey and agin no power.

can anyone please help me?

i think i mihgt no the answer to my problem but ineed a second opinion.

in the front of my car under the hod there is a little positive bolt sticking up from my car in a box on the top rihgt corner. this is were i have my hid's pluged into. is that were i should plug it in?

archrival
05-13-2008, 11:15 PM
you are fine with having it all hooked up in the rear but you need to have your remote wire hooked up...blue wire out the back of the deck and then run it too the REM on your amp

nick_star
05-14-2008, 07:04 AM
yah i forgot to mention that too. i have that doen as well.

DANE
05-14-2008, 09:02 AM
Check Ur Fuse

elroy
05-14-2008, 09:33 AM
fuse in the amp and fuse that you put in the power line.

DANE
05-14-2008, 09:33 AM
fuse in the amp and fuse that you put in the power line.

check them both

Mickey Knox
05-14-2008, 04:21 PM
if you have an original BMW amp installed in the trunk (dunno what car you got) you can hijack the remote-on cable from there, as well as all speaker wires, this is not going to be as nice as using the line out, but saves you from running cables under your carpet. you WILL need your bentley for that one.

nick_star
05-14-2008, 05:01 PM
i have an infinity amp. i pluged it into my friends jetta and it works fine. the fuse is brand new. its not getting any power from the battery to the amp. so i dont no what to do now. i wanna have some bass for wasaga this may 2-4 long weekend, so hopefully someone can get me out.

elroy
05-14-2008, 05:20 PM
Is there a fuse inline with the postive feed to the amp? This sounds really strange to me considering it worked in your friends car. If anything, get him to check your install, much easier to tell whats wrong in person

Mickey Knox
05-14-2008, 08:50 PM
ok you know the amp works, so next check that there is actually voltage on the terminal at the amp, measure this against the ground terminal on the battery just to be sure. if you got voltage there, check it against the ground terminal on the amp, no voltage means your ground connection is shitty (mounted on paint or a piece that happens to be insulated).

if you dont have a volt meter you can use a 12 volt bulb or something. if there is no voltage the in-line fuse is blown or inserted incorrectly. a new piece of heavy gauge amp wire shouldnt be too expensive, give than it doesnt have to go far.

good luck

Edit: if the plus and the ground wire check out fine, check the voltage of the REM cable, some work on 5 volts some on 12 i think, if it takes 12 volts you can hook it up to the battery to test it.

nick_star
05-16-2008, 07:26 AM
hey guys i found the problem,

when everthing was connected right but when i was running my wires fromt he deck to the trunk to the amp, the plastic cover of my REM wite had a split on it and it was touching other metal located behind the back seats. so i just put tape around that and its all god!

thanks for ur help guys