PDA

View Full Version : Need your advice regarding winter beaters, please help

JNSchnitzer
03-31-2008, 11:19 AM
Hey guys,

I know it's early but I'm thinking that I want to buy a winter beater for next year. I'll probably buy the car in the fall days, however I want to do the proper research early as I've never done this before. I was thinking to buy some old $1500 civic hatch so that I can fit it in the driveway behind my bro's car. Can someone help me answer the following:

- Do you guys buy a new winter beater every year or do you keep the same one? If you keep the same one, do you know where I could dump the car during the summer season?

- How does the insurance work? I would like to keep fire/theft on my bimmer.

- Do you just swap plates for the winter and swap them back for the summer?

- Do you think that it's worth it or is it too much hassle?

- Anything else I need to think of :confused:?

Thanks in advance *th-up*

Joe

Boots R
03-31-2008, 11:26 AM
- How does the insurance work? I would like to keep fire/theft on my bimmer.

Call up your insurance company and tell them you're storing the BMW, and insuring the new vehicle. They'll put fire/theft on it.

- Do you just swap plates for the winter and swap them back for the summer?

Yes. Just take the plate portion from your BMW ownership, and bring the ownership of the winter beater to the MTO. they'll transfer it on the spot. In the spring you can transfer it back.

Mikeee46coup
03-31-2008, 12:36 PM
I'd only store an investment vehicle (Ferrari, Vintage muscle car), I'd rather have the safety and crash protection of a BMW in the winter, then to risk being injured in a Civic. Also winter beaters may end up costing more to keep (breakdowns) A good day of detailing can bring a BMW back to great condition after a long harsh winter.

just my 2 cents.

Have a look at my sig, pic taken last spring, the car's a 2000 323ci w/200,000km, driven every winter since new.

1BADRIDE
03-31-2008, 12:36 PM